I’ve Been Hiding

I have a confession. I’ve had many excuses to be lax in my blogging, but the main reason is that I’ve been a bit of a coward. I’ve changed a great deal in the past several years, and it’s very comfortable to just step back and hide, letting others assume of me what they will, what they remember. So here’s my confessional, of sorts.

The truth is, I’ve become much more liberal. (Blame it if you will on The Righteous Mind: Why Good People Are Divided by Politics and Religion, by Jonathan Haidt—a truly awesome book that everyone in the West should read.)

I strongly support gay marriage, and have ever since I got married and fully realized all of the legal rights and benefits it entails.

I am a feminist (although that probably doesn’t surprise anyone). That passion has become much stronger since I’ve become a mother and realize the many areas in which fundamental rights are still being ignored or violated.

I am a card-carrying member of the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Statesboro.

Confessions to my liberal friends:

I am STRONGLY pro-vaccination. In most things, I’m very laid-back, live-and-let-live, easy to empathize with. But do not get me started on this issue, because this is not an issue of equally weighted opinions, it’s an issue of facts versus fear-mongering.

I am not and probably never will be a vegetarian, at least not for moral reasons. Maybe for health reasons. I love animals. I love taking care of them, and also think they are tasty. I would love to see the animals treated humanely before they’re harvested, but that’s not one of my pedestals. I’m all for supporting those who are fighting that good fight, but it’s not mine.

Confession to everyone:

These Gevalia K-Cup latte packets are incredibly tasty and actually reminiscent of a real latte.

Leave a Reply

