Homemade Deodorant (for sensitive skin)

I’ve mentioned before that I’m now using homemade deodorant. My bestest friend gave me some for Christmas, but the baking soda made me break out. So I fudged the recipe a little and now it works beautifully. The true test will be summer, of course, but it works when I work out, so my hopes are high.

You will need:

  • Some sort of container. I have a small wide-mouth glass jar. (If you don’t have anything to fish out of the recycling, thrift stores are great places to find things like this.)
  • 1/2 Cup of coconut oil
  • 1/4 Cup of baking soda
  • 7 TB (1/4 Cup + 1 TB) of cornstarch
  • Drops of vanilla oil or some other essential oil for scent (optional)

My method of mixing it all together may horrify whoever put the original idea together, but here’s what I did:

Put the coconut oil in a microwave-safe mixing bowl. Zap it for a few seconds. It really doesn’t take long—coconut oil is only solid below 76*, so it “melts” VERY quickly. Once it’s liquid, add the rest of the ingredients. I used a fork; I’m sure a whisk would work well too. Then use a spatula and put it in your container. To use it, I just use my fingertip to scoop out a small amount, about pea-sized, and rub it under my arms. I’ve been using it over a month now and haven’t had any problems with staining. I can also use it right after shaving without it stinging or anything. And I don’t smell bad, which is the main thing.

Now, to clarify, this is a deodorant, not an antiperspirant. You can’t get an antiperspirant without the aluminum, which is bad for you. And I personally don’t care about sweating, just about stinking, so this works great for me.

One thought on “Homemade Deodorant (for sensitive skin)

Leave a Reply

