Early Mornings

As I sit in my dark living room, sipping my cup of coffee, waiting for the sun to come up, I can almost feel Dad here with me. We were always the early birds in our house, though what he considered “early” most people would consider “late night.” It’s been tough these last couple days to leave my warm bed before I absolutely have to, but it’s been so worth it.

It’s nice to wake up before Kara, to have a few minutes to myself to reflect and, of course, to drink a cup of coffee. To hear the world wake up, changing from utter silence, to the constant rush of cars down the road, to hear more and more birds take up the morning chorus and watch the dark sky slowly turn light.

Sitting at my desk, a warm blanket wrapped around my shoulders, even the loss of my warm bed isn’t much of a sacrifice.

What’s your favorite time of day? What changes have you made so you can fully enjoy that time?

 

Leave a Reply

