“Let Me Explain…

No, there is too much. Let me sum up.”

How do you sum up a year? I know it’s the popular thing to do today, but it’s difficult. I can say I’ve ended the year in the best physical shape I’ve ever been in my life. I hope to be able to say that again this time next year. Steve successfully completed his fourth exam and officially became a Ph.D. student, and it became more likely that he would finish his doctorate than that he wouldn’t. We’ve mostly just been raising a baby. That baby cut her first teeth and took her first steps.

We lived, we laughed, we loved. We existed, and we enjoyed it. And we hope to do much more of the same this year.

There could be huge changes just around the corner. Steve could have his doctorate as soon as May. More likely, those big changes won’t come until next year. We’re okay with whatever comes. This new year, I plan to be happy, to continue my successful foray into the world of healthy living, and to make things (mostly food things and crocheted things, I imagine).

I know my motherly patience will be tested much more–this year started off with yet another spectacular tantrum (on Kara’s part, not mine… yet) set off by some unknown trigger. But with coffee and a loving, patient husband, I survived it. As did Kara. And if I can say that for the rest of the year, we’ll be in good shape.

What are your hopes and dreams for this calendar?

 

Leave a Reply

