Because all the cool kids are doing it…

I’ll post about Valentine’s Day. My favorite Valentine’s Day memory.

For most of my life, I’ve been single on Valentine’s Day, so it was always Single Awareness Day. I was happy being single most of the time, but man, what a way to rub it in your face for weeks leading up to the happy couple’s day. No one would bring me chocolate or roses or buy me a silly little card. I was 16 and home alone and going to work at my totally un-glamorous fast food job later and nobody cared and I was wallowing in misery and burning a “Pity Party Mix” CD when I got up from the computer to stretch my legs.

There on a TV tray in a neglected corner of the living room was… I don’t remember everything, but I definitely remember the little jewelery box, and I’m sure there was chocolate. My dad had left it where he knew I would find it before I went to work. Just that simple reminder that I did have a man in my life who loved me turned my entire day around. (I’m sure the chocolate helped too.) I’ve since lost the ring, of course, but I’ll always have that memory.

And I also remember that Dad didn’t do anything for Mom that Valentine’s Day, not even buy her a carnation that they were selling at work. She was angry and I felt bad for her, but it also made me feel even more special that he thought of me.

So here we are, me and my first Valentine:

Leave a Reply

