Nesting Is Exhausting–or–I Need a Magic Wand

Yesterday was quite an eventful day at work. Not in a good way. Normally, that would be enough to convince me (not that much convincing is ever needed) to come straight home and nap. However, the first thing I noticed when I walked in the door is that our floors are in desperate need of cleaning. With the help of my brand-new Swiffer (and a traditional broom and dustpan), I swept and mopped all the hardwood.

Then I decided that the dirty dishes were out of control.

Aside: I would like to take this opportunity to point out that, though the dishes are normally Steve’s chore, he has not been slacking in this department. I just dirtied an inordinate amount of dishes the night before and he hadn’t had a chance to wash them yet.

Rather than waiting for Steve to get home, I decided it had to be done right now. I finished loading the dishwasher and there was still a rather large pile, so I washed a pretty full sink the old-fashioned way.

Then I noticed the basket of dirty towels/rags was overflowing. We can’t have that! I got a load of laundry started—then, of course, remembered that the dryer was still full of clothes I had washed that morning before I’d gone to work. So those had to be folded.

By this time, I was absolutely exhausted, but I still couldn’t let up. I decided that, with little over a month to go, it was finally time to stop procrastinating on buying baby room furniture. After hours of browsing craigslist, amazon, and a million other sites, I finally ordered a set from Wal-Mart. (Hurray for free site-to-store shipping!) And a mattress, of course. I was so close to being done—I decided to browse baby bedding. But that just turned out to be a little too frustrating for me, so I finally, finally decided to call it quits.

This morning, all I’ve done is put away the clothes I’ve folded last night, clean the toilet, and put away the dishes I washed last night…

2 thoughts on “Nesting Is Exhausting–or–I Need a Magic Wand

  1. I know the feeling! I am currently looking at my apartment and the mess it is in, but I keep having to hold Claire. It drives me nuts! I keep having to remind myself to rest when I can get it, because, like you, I will work myself to exhaustion instead of taking rest when I need it. I also understand the overwhelming feeling of looking at baby stuff. Walking into Babies’r’ us is enough to give a person a panic attack!

    • I went to Babies ‘R Us a couple times… After the first time, I sent out a distress call and asked experienced mothers what you actually need for a child! It was quite overwhelming.

      It’s bad enough trying to pace myself just being pregnant. I can’t even imagine what I’ll do once Kara gets here. Guess I can just wait and find out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

