Biting Into a Memory

The other day, I decided to make some white bean soup. I sauteed some onion, pepper, and celery with some seasoning, then threw in the beans with some broth. After digging in my cabinet, I found a small can of mild green chilies. Why not? I thought, and threw them in.

When it was all cooked, I removed about two cups, blended it, and threw it back in with a can of cream of chicken. It smelled yummy, and I got an unexpected bonus as soon as I started eating.

With the very first bite, I was transported back in time.

 

I was about 10 years old and sitting on the deck at a restaurant at Opryland right on the river, eating a very similar bowl of bean soup at the Riverside Cafe. It was spicier than I’d normally like, but I’d been riding water rides, and it was evening and I was just a little chilly, so the extra heat was welcome.

We used to go to that restaurant specifically for that soup, yet I’d forgotten all about it. It’s still hard to believe that one little taste of something similar brought back the memories so vividly.

My homemade soup was delicious in its own right, but that made it super special and gives me an extra reason to put it in my recipe book.

Leave a Reply

