Hi, There

It occurred to me as I was handing out contact cards yesterday that

drumroll

I have a website.

Seems obvious, yet it has somehow escaped my attention for, well, I’ll leave it to your intuitive powers to see how long this website has escaped my notice. I blame it on the game Slay, which my husband got for his birthday. You think Solitaire is a procrastinator’s dream? You should try Slay.

Right up there with Slay is crocheting. I have a pretty decent excuse for wasting my time with crocheting, though–I’ve actually been selling stuff.  So far, my best seller has been Bighead Bear, which pattern I made myself. If you’re interested, here it is.

Bighead Bear stands about 6” tall and is baby-safe. Also, he’s stinkin’ adorable.

First, make the ears:

Chain 2. Work 4 sc in second ch from hook. Ch 1, turn. 2 sc in each st. FO, leaving a long tail for sewing.

Next, make the muzzle in rounds:

Chain 2. Work 6 sc in second ch from hook. Work 2 sc in each st. Fasten off, leaving long tail for sewing. Using red yarn and an embroidery needle, make the nose and mouth.

Now it’s time to start the bear, working in a continuous spiral from the head down.

Chain 2.

Round 1: 6 sc in second ch from hook.

Round 2: 2 sc in each sc (12 st)

Round 3: 2 sc in each sc (24 st)

Round 4: 1 sc, 2 sc in next st until end of round (36 st)

Rounds 5-9: 1 sc in each st.

Round 10: 1 sc, 1 sc dec until end of round (24 st)

Stop and sew on the ears, eyes, and muzzle.

Round 11: In BLO, 1 sc, 1 sc dec until end of round (12 st)

Stuff head

Round 12: 1 sc, 2 sc in next stitch until end of round (24 st)

Round 13-22: 1 sc in each st

Round 23: In BLO, 1 sc, 1 sc dec until end of round (12 st). FO, leaving long tail for sewing.

Limbs: Chain 2. 4 sc in second ch from hook. Round 2: 2 sc in each st. Rounds 3-6, 1 sc in each st. FO, leaving long tail for sewing.

Attach limbs to body. Stuff body. Sew up bottom.

One thought on “Hi, There

  1. Just another thing I see we have in common besides the writing thing… Crocheting is a love of mine, too! And coming up with patterns makes it all the more enjoyable. Way to go! Adorable bear!

Leave a Reply

