Everyday Mistakes

Besides the Oxford comma, another common mistake is the misuse of “everyday.” Unlike “alright,” which is just an informal meshing of two words, “everyday” and “every day” actually have two separate meanings.

To put it briefly, “everyday” is an adjective, while “every day” is an adjective followed by a noun.

Before I took Latin and really understood English, I would perform one of two tests: either I would insert the word “single” between “every” and “day,” and if it still made sense, I used the two-word phrase. Or I would substitute “each” for “every.” Again, if it still made sense, I would use the two-word phrase.

Using your newly honed editorial skills, tell me which sentence is correct:

These are some of the everyday mistakes people make.

or

These are some of the mistakes people make everyday.

Thank you for playing! I’ll be here all week.

One thought on “Everyday Mistakes

  1. Pingback: I’m Cured! « Free Is a Lark

Leave a Reply

