Don’t Take This the Wrong Way…

“Don’t take this the wrong way, but have you lost weight?”

The first time I heard this question, I was about 10 years old. I thought about my weight about as often as I thought about boys. Pretty much never. But I do remember being happy to hear that question. Hey, I looked like I’d lost weight. Didn’t matter if the number on the scale had changed; I looked like I lost weight.

Which led me to think, What wrong way is there to take that question? As I’ve spent time with more women I realize that there are, in fact, women who would be insulted at the suggestion that they were heavier than anorexic to begin with. This is a mindset I do not understand.

I recently restarted a diet I know works. Five years ago, I lost 35 pounds. I’ve gained about 5 since then. Not a bad ratio, but I want my BMI to be on the lower end of healthy rather than brushing the rafters, so I’m beginning again.

Also, it’s almost summer, and I want to look great. So I, for one, am grateful to hear my hard work pay off and hear people exclaim how much weight I’ve lost. For me, there is no “wrong way” to take that question.

Leave a Reply

