Admitting a Fallacy

Okay, I admit it. I made an absolutely terrible argument in that last post. After talking with some people, I am compelled to point out that I realize people can care about more than one issue at a time. I did not mean to say that people who care about chickens care more about chickens than they do about people.

However, it does seem to me that if you’re standing around a chicken factory picketing against people on their way to earn a living in the chicken factory and “tar and feather” them with corn syrup and paper feathers… it looks an awful lot like you’re more passionate about chickens than you are about people. But it’s kind of a moot point, because that’s a fictional example.

I also recognize that there is more than one issue facing our society, and many of them are very, incredibly important, and the importance of one issue does not negate the seriousness of another. And I’ve pointed that very thing out many times when I donate to causes like the World Wildlife Fund when there are starving children and enslaved women around the world. Because I also donate to the International Justice Mission and Save the Children.

All of God’s earth matters. We are to be good stewards. But in ranking important things in order of importance, His children should always come first. Especially those children who, quite literally, have no voice of their own.

Leave a Reply

