Fiber Fun

No, it’s not what you’re thinking. “Fiber Fun” does not involve sitting around and eating bran muffins. It’s a group of people who are doing all kinds of needlework projects, but mostly crocheting. Tonight was my first gathering with them.

I arrived early with bright, garish yarn to begin a new project I found on ravelry.com. I got a mug of hot tea to warm my stiff fingers, claimed the coffeehouse’s couches, and got to work. Then the others began arriving and the fun began! There were a couple of young, quiet girls who were so talented I was incredibly jealous. Ok… I was actually just jealous of the very warm-looking sweater she was finishing–she’d already knitted all of the pieces and was stitching the sleeves to the body and the front to the back. There were a couple others around my age and a couple others who were older but just as young at heart.

I actually went out of my way to meet new people, and the common activity made it surprisingly un-awkward.

Leave a Reply

