Culinary Adventures

Since I’ve been trying to eat healthier, I’ve been motivated to try new things. When the two basic food groups you can eat are meat and veggies, you very quickly want to branch out into something other than salad topped with chicken. I’ve been watching Food Network and decided to attempt a recipe kind of inspired by them.

I bought a pint of grape tomatoes, put them in a small casserole dish and drizzled them with a good bit of olive oil and added several cloves of garlic. After roasting them for about half an hour, I tossed them in a blender with some oregano and a handful of spinach. It was a nice orangey color but, after tasting it, I decided it could use some more spinach–you couldn’t taste the spinach and I thought, “Hey, a little more veggies never hurt anyone.” So I added some more and it came out kind of an earthy green. I poured that over some grilled chicken. It looked kind of gross. Steve dubbed it “slime chicken.” But it tasted heavenly. So if you want to make it and let it look pretty, you can add one handful of spinach. If you don’t care how it looks and want the extra Vitamin K, add two handfuls. 🙂

Then, I decided to make aebleskiver for Steve’s department picnic, but not just any aebleskiver would do–I wanted to make pumpkin spice aebleskiver. With the addition of some pumpkin butter and generous amounts of cinnamon, nutmeg, chives, and cloves, I succeeded admirably. My only problem was not gorging myself on what are essentially deep-fried pancake balls since I am, after all, on a diet.

I am the Queen of the Kitchen!

Leave a Reply

