Pet Sematary

I have been increasingly perplexed over the years with how people seem to equate Stephen King with Dean Koontz, but never more so than having finished King’s Pet Sematary. Koontz grabs you from the first sentence and doesn’t let go until the last page, and even when you’ve read enough of his books to guess where it’s going, it’s one heck of a ride.

In Pet Sematary, on the other hand, it started off slow, I knew where it was going within the first 50 pages, and after reading 400 pages, it ended almost exactly the way I’d expected. The only part that’s tense at all is the last 50 pages or so, but again not really, because you already know where it’s going. It’s rambling, boring, and dull, and when I finished, I wondered why I wasted my time.

Conclusion: if you must make a comparison, even though there’s no real reason to, Dean Koontz is king.

Leave a Reply

