Miserable Business

I’m the first to admit that sometimes, the entertainment I love most is not, by any objective standard, good. Especially with movies. For example, one of my favorite movies of all time is Labyrinth, the 80s-tastic fantasy musical featuring Jim Henson puppets and David Bowie in progressively tighter pants.

Sometimes, I also like music that I know isn’t actually good, and at the top of that list right now is the song “Misery Business” by Paramore. I like this song. I like her voice and the way the words run together. Love the music. But it really makes no sense at all.

Basically, the song is about a girl who lost her boyfriend to another girl. Then, “I waited eight long months / She finally set him free.” So she takes him back.

Then she declares, “I never meant to brag / But I’ve got him where I want him now. / Whoa, it was never my intention to brag / Just to steal it all away from you now.” Which is dumb, because she just confessed she didn’t “steal” her ex-boyfriend from this girl–he was set free!

But it gets better! The next verse begins, “Second chances, they don’t ever matter, people never change. / Once a whore you’re nothing more; I’m sorry, that’ll never change.”  The singer is directing this line to the girl who stole her boyfriend away in the first place, but it’s obviously much more applicable to the guy himself. This song makes absolutely no sense whatsoever!

Why, oh why, do I like this completely nonsensical song? At least Labyrinth was fun…

Leave a Reply

