Grass eating cat

I saw an image captioned “Grass eating cat.”

What do you think I was seeing? To me, that caption conjures an image of a cat being swallowed by some monstrous version of a venus flytrap. It’s saying, after all, the grass is eating the cat.

That is not the image I was viewing, however. The picture was of a cat eating grass. The correct caption should be, then, either “Cat eating grass” or “Grass-eating cat.”

See the importance of the hyphen? There’s a real-world example, just for you. Oh look… I did it again.

Leave a Reply

