Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

If you haven’t heard of Stephenie Meyer’s book, Twilight, and the movie that recently came out, the pending movies, etc., you’ve probably had absolutely no contact with any girl under the age of 15 for the past year and a half or so. It’s also taken over pretty much every facebook application (flair, bumper sticker, etc.) and, over Christmas break, my sisters-in-law told me grown people in their offices were reading the books.

From the quotes I’d seen, I had already decided I wouldn’t like the books. However, I get mad when people judged my favorite books, like Harry Potter, without reading them, so I decided I should read Twilight before making any judgments. Now I’ve read it.

The book was written much better than I thought it would be. Stephenie Meyer gives her character a unique voice and avoids getting bogged down in details that don’t matter. That said, her 17-year-old girl of a character thinks like a 25-year-old and the high school details are unrealistic and blase.

The plot line is almost as unimaginative as it is predictable–if you don’t know, the basic premise is that a girl falls in love with a vampire, who goes to high school with his “family” for some reason–they don’t really like interacting with humans, and people “instinctively” avoid them, but here they are in high school for the umpteenth time in their lives. What’s the point in being immortal if you’re just going to have to repeat high school over and over? There isn’t even an interesting conflict until the last 20 pages of the book.

The vaunted perfect relationship between Bella and Edward is full of petty arguments and pretty much the same dialogue about how they love each other but shouldn’t because he’s dangerous. He’s dangerous, but he glitters. In the sun. The dreaded vampire glitters. He’d have a hard time convincing me he’s dangerous, too.

It’s a great book for a rainy day. Or a girl’s hormonal day. I laughed a few times. Might’ve cried if I had a slightly more vested interest in the characters. For a teen romance, it stays nicely inside the bounds of propriety, which is pretty refreshing. However, if you’re looking for something innovative and intriguing, this is not a read for you.

Leave a Reply

