Snowballs in December

My life has been snowballing. Not the white, cold kind that you can have fun launching at people (and missing… if you’re me). The metaphorical kind that picks you up and throws you downhill, gathering every insignificant twig and rock until you’re a mass of ugly problems blown out of proportion.

In my defense, my snowball began with something pretty huge: my car got repossessed. Long story, but I will say that I had, in fact, been paying the company. I’d just been paying someone else’s loan.

With that very large base, every tiny thing has become a huge problem to my overly emotional self. The pinky I managed to cut off nearly a month ago yet has remained swollen has become a constant irritant. Steve needing a new tooth, while not overwhelming at the time, makes me wonder at the irony that a guy who could actually USE those worthless wisdom teeth happens to have none.

There is more, but I will not speak of it again until I can actually find the humor in the situation.

Ah, distincly I remember. It was in the bleak December and each separate dying ember wrought its ghost upon the floor.
Eagerly I wished the morrow; vainly I had sought to borrow from my books surcease from sorrow…

Leave a Reply

