Still Waters

My life isn’t incredibly exciting. Even the road to my marriage didn’t have enough bumps in it to make a good novel. The peace and quiet I’m enjoying might have some people ready to jump out of their skin and bounce on to something more. That “happily ever after”–you love to hear it happens, but it’s awfully boring to hear the details.

But you know what? It’s incredible. My marriage, my biggest blessing, is awesome. Not cloyingly sweet or anything. It’s just amazing. Even my job at the coffeehouse is pretty slow-paced and stress free. For me, anyway. Not the owners. And now, when money problems were just starting to cause a ripple, the waters stilled again when I got a few assignments from Randall House. They were completely smoothed when the OC Tutors accepted me as a proofreader.

Even the little things that would normally drive me crazy aren’t enough to faze me when stacked against everything else I have going my way. While some people thrive on adversity, I’m so incredibly happy and contented to say:

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,

he restores my soul.
He guides me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.

Leave a Reply

