Nashvegas

Steve and I spent his break between class and orientation on a trip to see my parents and roommate and his brother, sister-in-law, and nephew. Steve spent most of his time playing my parents’ Wii and computer games. I spent most of my time shopping.

I never used to be much of a shopper, but that was before I moved to a place where the nearest Books-A-Million is over 30 minutes away. My parents live right next to a huge shopping center with Books-A-Million, Target, Ross, PetSmart, a theater… EVERYTHING! It was beautiful. This morning, I’m wearing a new outfit and am sipping a caramel cappuccino that I made in the comfort of my very own home. My bathroom has decorative things that match each other. All of which probably matters nothing to you, but it’s a very exciting time for me.

It was also, of course, wonderful spending time with my amazing parents and roommate. And my kitties, who still claim me even though I’ve moved away from them. I also got to meet the new nephew. Jessi has banned me from comparing infants to reptiles, but my sister-in-law was so excited when I said her baby looks like a turtle. She thought the exact same thing and was surprised no one else had said it. But apparently, in normal circumstances, it’s a bad idea to tell a new mother her baby looks like a reptile.

Leave a Reply

